Megan Rapinoe Wins FIFA Awards, Sets World Cup Final Records In USA Vs. Netherlands


July 7, 2019

Megan Rapinoe has claimed soccer’s biggest individual haul, despite the fact she didn’t play her best game.

The United States women’s soccer team forward won the two most prestigious FIFA Women’s World Cup awards Sunday following USA’s 2-0 win over the Netherlands in the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup final. She claimed both the Golden Ball as the tournament’s best player and the Golden Boot as the top scorer with six goals.

Rapinoe scored USA’s opening goal in the 61st minute, becoming the first player to convert a penalty kick in a Women’s World Cup final, as well as the oldest goal scorer in the big game.

Rapinoe also is the oldest winner of the Golden Boot and Golden Ball awards in Women’s World Cup history.

She also ended USA’s 28-year wait for a Golden Boot winner.

USA striker Alex Morgan, who also scored six goals at World Cup 2019, won the Silver Boot as the second-leading scorer, and midfielder Rose Lavelle won the Bronze Ball as the tournament’s third-best player.

Rapinoe struggled to put winning the World Cup into words in a postgame interview with FOX Sports.

“I don?t think I can (describe the feeling of being a world champion), Rapinoe said. “It?s unbelievable to know all the people who put in so much in this group. We have all our families and friends here. It?s surreal. I don?t know how to feel right now. It?s ridiculous.”

That’s OK. Rapinoe’s work in France speaks for itself.

Professional racecar driver Danica Patrick and Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers
Previous Article

Danica Patrick, Aaron Rodgers Pose Together For Patriotic Instagram

United States women's soccer team players
Next Article

Watch USA Women’s Soccer Team’s Jubilant Locker-Room Celebrations

Picked For You