NBA Is Renaming It’s All-Star Game MVP Award In Honor Of Kobe Bryant


The NBA has found at least one permanent way to honor Kobe Bryant.

Any player named MVP of their respective NBA All-Star Game now wins the Kobe Bryant MVP Award, commissioner Adam Silver announced ahead of Saturday’s All-Star Weekend Festivities.

The first-ever Kobe Bryant MVP Award will be handed out after Sunday’s game in Chicago.

“I know it will be especially meaningful to that player that wins the first Kobe Bryant MVP,” Silver said, via SNYTV.

This won’t be the only way the NBA will honor Bryant’s legacy, however.

“I’m sure there will be other honors as well,” Silver said. “As I mentioned, there are other things that we will be discussing with our board, the NBA board, when we meet in April to honor David (Stern). But this one seems so appropriate here at All-Star (weekend) because nobody embodied All-Star more than Kove Bryant.”

Sunday’s All-Star Game tips off at 8 p.m. ET at United Center.

Boston Bruins' Brad Marchand, Brandon Carlo
Previous Article

What Bruce Cassidy Told Bruins After Team Went Down 1-0 To Red Wings After First Period

Boston Celtics Forward Jayson Tatum
Next Article

Jayson Tatum Knocked Out Of All-Star Skills Challenge In First Round

Picked For You