Dak Prescott, A.J. Green Among NFL Players Who Will Play On Franchise Tag

The NFL reportedly will have more players playing on the franchise tag than ever before.

The deadline for franchise-tagged players to sign long-term contracts with their respective teams came and went Wednesday, with 12 players not coming to terms on a deal, according to ESPN.

Since the franchise tag was implemented in 1993, the most players to play a full season under the tag was nine (2009, 2012), per the Worldwide Leader.

The list includes some big names like Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott, who will earn $31.4 million on the tag, and Cincinatti Bengals receiver A.J. Green, who’s one-year deal is set for $17.9 million.

The other 10 players included one tight ends, two offensive linemen, three defensive ends, one outside linebacker, one defensive tackle and two safeties.

Here’s the full list of players:

— Dallas Cowboys QB Dak Prescott
— Cincinatti Bengals WR A.J. Green
— Los Angeles Chargers TE Hunter Henry
— Washington Redskins G Brandon Scherff
— New England Patriots G Joe Thuney
— Baltimore Ravens DE Matt Judon
— Jacksonville Jaguars DE Yannick Ngakoue
— New York Giants DT Leonard Williams
— Pittsburgh Steelers DE Bud Dupree
— Tampa Bay Buccaneers OLB Shaq Barrett
— Denver Broncos S Justin Simmons
— Minnesota Vikings S Anthony Harris

Of course, all are just hoping they’ll have a chance to strap on the pads later this month in preparation for the 2020 NFL season.

More NFL: What Franchise Tag Deadline Passing Means For Joe Thuney, Patriots

Thumbnail photo via Bill Streicher/USA TODAY Sports Images