Robert Lewandowski, Lucy Bronze Win FIFA Awards As Best Soccer Players In 2020

Did voters make the right choices?


December 17, 2020

Robert Lewandowski and Lucy Bronze are a cut above the rest.

The Bayern Munich and Poland forward and Manchester City and England defender won The Best FIFA Men’s Player and The Best FIFA Women’s Player awards, respectively, Thursday. And Bronze topped other finalists in a vote of fans and media representatives.

Lewandowski powered Bayern to triumphs in the Bundesliga (German league), DFB-Pokal (German Cup), the UEFA Champions League, the German Super Cup and the UEFA Super Cup in 2020. Cristiano Ronaldo and last year’s winner, Lionel Messi, finished behind Lewandowski in the voting.

Bronze is the first defender to win women’s soccer’s most prestigious individual award. She finished third in 2019, behind USA women’s national team stars Alex Morgan and 2019 The Best FIFA Women’s Player winner Megan Rapinoe. Bronze beat out finalists Pernille Harder and Wendie Renard this year.

Thumbnail photo via Kevin Jairaj/USA TODAY Sports Images
Tennessee Titans mascot
Previous Article

NFL Week 15 Picks: Odds, Analysis And Predictions For Every Game

Free agent winger Mike Hoffman, Boston Bruins defenseman Charlie McAvoy
Next Article

Revisiting Star Free Agent Mike Hoffman’s Potential Fit With Bruins

Picked For You