Red Sox Vs. Indians Lineups: Kyle Schwarber Leads Off In Finale

Bobby Dalbec and Kevin Plawecki also will return


Boston Red Sox manager Alex Cora intended to have Kyle Schwarber bat leadoff Saturday, but at 1:30 a.m. thought better of it.

He’s didn’t have a late-night rethink Saturday into Sunday.

Schwarber will bat leadoff and play left field for the Red Sox as they try to complete a sweep of their three-game set against the Cleveland Indians.

With Schwarber hitting first, Rafael Devers bumps up to the No. 2 spot, while Alex Verdugo will hit fifth.

In terms of personnel changes, Kevin Plawecki takes over at catcher for Christian Vázquez, while Bobby Dalbec mans first base in place of Travis Shaw. Plawecki will hit sixth, followed by Dalbec.

Jarren Duran will remain in center field, but he moves from the leadoff spot to the eight-hole.

Tanner Houck will get the ball for Boston and will be opposed by Eli Morgan. First pitch from Progressive Field is set for 1 p.m. ET on NESN, with pregame coverage beginning at noon.

Here are the lineups for the Red Sox-Indians finale:

RED SOX (75-56)
Kyle Schwarber, LF
Rafael Devers, 3B
J.D. Martinez, DH
Xander Bogaerts, SS
Alex Verdugo, RF
Kevin Plawecki, C
Bobby Dalbec, 1B
Jarren Duran, CF
Jonathan Araúz, 2B

Tanner Houck, RHP (0-3, 3.43 ERA)

INDIANS (63-64)
Myles Straw, CF
Amed Rosario, SS
Jose Ramirez, 3B
Franmil Reyes, DH
Bradley Zimmer, RF
Bobby Bradley, 1B
Wilson Rams, C
Daniel Johnson, LF
Andres Gimenez, 2B

Eli Morgan, RHP (2-6, 5.98)

Boston Red Sox designated hitter J.D. Martinez
Previous Article

One Stat Says Everything About J.D Martinez’s Importance To Red Sox

Boston Red Sox utilityman Christian Arroyo
Next Article

Christian Arroyo Tests Positive For COVID-19 After Close Contact With Kiké Hernández

Picked For You