Revolution’s Bruce Arena Named MLS Coach Of The Year After Record-Setting Campaign

Arena's résumé now includes four MLS Coach of the Year honors


November 29, 2021

Bruce Arena is back on top of his game.

The New England Revolution head coach was named the 2021 MLS Sigi Schmid Coach of the Year on Monday. Having led the Revolution to the Supporters Shield title on a record-setting 73 points in the regular season, Arena claims the honor for the fourth time in his career.

Arena garnered 57.97% of the overall vote by MLS players, club technical staff and media. He topped runner-up, the Colorado Rapids’ Robin Fraser, who received 20.8% of the vote, and other contenders by a comfortable margin.

The 70-year-old is the second Revolution coach to win the Coach of the Year award, joining Steven Nicol who earned it in 2002.

Arena also is the third member of the Revolution to win a 2021 MLS year-end prize. Matt Turner was named the 2021 MLS Goalkeeper of the Year and Carles Gil won the 2021 MLS Comeback Player of the Year award last week.

The Revolution will host New York City FC on Tuesday night at Gillette Stadium in the Eastern Conference semifinal round of the MLS Cup Playoffs.

Boston Bruins right wing David Pastrnak
Previous Article

Ford Final Five Facts: Bruins Come Back In Third For Win Over Canucks

New England Patriots head coach Bill Belichick
Next Article

Bill Belichick Awkwardly Invokes Tom Brady After Question About Mac Jones

Picked For You