Update: Tiger Woods Says He Wasn’t Fined by PGA


Aug 11, 2009

Update: Tiger Woods Says He Wasn't Fined by PGA Contrary to an earlier report, Tiger Woods says that he won't be fined for criticizing an official on Sunday, according to The Associated Press.

The world's best golfer was critical of an official after winning the Bridgestone Invitational on Sunday, and an anonymous PGA source told the AP that he would be fined.

"I've heard from the tour and there's no fine," Woods told the AP. "That was an erroneous report."

Woods' comments were in regards to an official's presence on the 16th hole — a point in the tournament that proved to be pivotal. Woods and his playing partner, Padraig Harrington, were told by John Paramor, the European Tour chief referee, that they were being timed for slow play.

Harrington then unraveled, sending his drive along the trees before putting a 5-iron on the upper lip of a bunker. Harrington then sailed his next shot over the green before chipping his next shot well past the pin and into the water. He scored a 3-over on the hole and lost any hope of beating Tiger.

After the tournament, Woods said, "I don't think that Paddy would have hit the pitch shot that way if he was able to take his time, look at it, analyze it. But he was on the clock, had to get up there quickly and hit it."

The PGA handbook states that, "It is an obligation of membership to
refrain from comments to the news media that unreasonably attack or
disparage tournaments, sponsors, fellow members, players, or PGA Tour."

Woods also told Harrington after the match, "I'm sorry that John got in the way of a great battle."

Previous Article

Red Sox Thoughts Floating in a Stream of Consciousness

Next Article

Bills’ Owens Misses Practice With Sore Toe

Picked For You