Adrian Beltre’s Impressive Second-Hand Catch Can’t Fool Umpire (But Nice Try)

Don’t fault Adrian Beltre for trying.

The Texas Rangers third baseman caught an unusual foul ball Monday in his team’s 7-3 win over the Seattle Mariners. But umpires refused to credit Beltre with an out because, well, it wasn’t one. This was the case despite Beltre’s best efforts to convince them otherwise.

Beltre snagged the ball after it landed in the stands and bounced back in his direction.

Beltre gets an “A” for effort, although batter Leonys Martin and the umpires might think otherwise.

Thumbnail photo via Ed Szczepanski/USA TODAY Sports Images

Thumbnail photo via July 18, 2012; Oakland, CA, USA; Texas Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre (29) makes a diving catch in the infield against the Oakland Athletics at O.co Coliseum. Mandatory Credit: Ed Szczepanski-USA TODAY Sports

TMZ logo

© 2018 NESN

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties