Bryce Harper Becomes Youngest Unanimous MVP; Josh Donaldson Wins AL Award

by abournenesn

Nov 19, 2015

NEW YORK — Bryce Harper has become the youngest unanimous MVP winner in baseball history, capturing the National League award during a season in which his Washington Nationals missed the playoffs.

Harper turned 23 in mid-October, after the postseason had already started.

Harper got all 30 first-place votes from members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America in results announced Thursday.

The outfielder led the majors in slugging percentage and on-base average. He hit .330 with 42 home runs and 99 RBIs.

Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt was second in the voting and Cincinnati Reds first baseman Joey Votto was third.

Toronto Blue Jays third baseman Josh Donaldson won the American League award, finishing ahead of Los Angeles Angels outfielder Mike Trout, who won last season’s MVP award and finished in the top two for the fourth consecutive year.

Donaldson hit 41 home runs and drove in 123 runs in his first season with the Blue Jays.

Thumbnail photo via Brad Mills/USA TODAY Sports Images

Previous Article

Boston College Vs. Notre Dame Odds: Fighting Irish Favorites At Fenway

Next Article

Kobe Bryant Finally Answers Retirement Question: ‘This Is It For Me’

Picked For You