Bruce Cassidy Explains Biggest Gripe With Errant Game 3 Delay Of Game Call

If the Boston Bruins want to slow down the Toronto Maple Leafs’ second-ranked power play, staying out of the penalty box is their best bet.

The Bruins did a decent job avoiding trips to the sin bin through two games, making an early delay of game penalty in Game 3 of their first-round Stanley Cup playoff series even more frustrating. B’s forward Riley Nash was sent off after flipping the puck over the glass, but replays indicated the puck hit the glass first.

The officials got together on the ice, and despite the fact that one linesman and one referee both were looking at the play, no one saw anything to overturn the original penalty call.

Nash went to the penalty box, James van Riemsdyk scored a power-play goal 7 seconds later, and the Maple Leafs went on to win 4-2 to get back into the best-of-seven series.

Bruins coach Bruce Cassidy was visibly puzzled by the penalty call, and after the game, he expressed his frustration with the process that ultimately led to the penalty.

“My question was, ‘Who made the call,’ right? There was no call immediately,” Cassidy told reporters. “Usually, as a coach — when a referee makes a call and they make it (right away) — you kind of live with (it) because it’s decisive. Now, they get together and they want to make the right call; that’s the idea, we understand that. But to me, they all got together and they guessed because it clearly hit the glass. We saw that. So they guessed and I think you’re kind of innocent until proven guilty. I don’t think you can guess and give someone a penalty.

“I prefer if they not guess and err on the side of caution. I think if it happened against us, I’d say the same thing. You’ve gotta be pretty sure it goes right out to make that call. If you think you missed it, then there are plenty of infractions and you can probably find one later.”

Frustrating as it may have been, Cassidy wasn’t about to blame that call for Boston’s first loss of the series.

“I didn’t think it was (the correct call), but anyway, there was, what, 50 minutes to straighten it out? So it’s certainly not the difference in the game. You just don’t want to play from behind if you can help it.”

Thumbnail photo via John E. Sokolowski/USA TODAY Sports Images

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties