Umpire Explains Controversial Call On Andrew Benintendi During No-Hitter

The Boston Red Sox were no-hit Saturday night by Oakland Athletics left-hander Sean Manaea, but it wasn’t without controversy.

During the sixth inning of the A’s 3-0 win over the Sox, Andrew Benintendi beat out a weak ground ball to first base for what was the Red Sox’s first hit of the game. But the umpires got together and reversed the call after determining that the Red Sox outfielder went out of the basepath to avoid Matt Olson’s tag.

Benintendi was critical of the umpires after the loss, but umpire Brian Gorman explained the call to a pool reporter following the game.

To hear Gorman’s explanation, check out the “Red Sox First Pitch” video above, presented by Men’s Wearhouse.

Thumbnail photo via David Butler II/USA TODAY Sports Images

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

Watching NESNgo on an iPhone or iPad?
Enable location settings. Visit NESN.com/NESNgoFAQ to learn how.

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties