Mike Tomlin was fined $100,000 for nearly getting bowled over by Ravens return man Jacoby Jones a few weeks ago, but apparently the same rules don’t apply to everyone.
Dolphins special teams coach Darren Rizzi was on the field and collided with an official during the Dolphins’ victory over the Steelers last Sunday. Like Tomlin, Rizzi was fined for his interference, however, his fine paled in comparison to the Steelers head coach’s, losing just $10,000, according to Jay Glazer of FOX Sports.
Rizzi contacted the official just before halftime during a field goal return by Steelers safety Troy Polamalu. There were a few laterals on the play, and apparently Rizzi was trying to coach up his guys, explaining his place so close to the field of play.
Rizzi was not flagged for the interference on the play, if he had been the Steelers would have been given an untimed play inside the Miami 30-yard line.
Check out a photo of Rizzi colliding with the official below.
Powered by WordPress.com VIP