We have a new candidate for worst call of the year to date.
HC Vrchlabi goalie Zdenek Biegl had a penalty shot scored on him during a Czech league game on Sunday that never actually went in. James Luštinec of HC Trutnov fired a shot over Biegl’s shoulder during a penalty shot. The puck flew past the goalie, but was sent ringing off the right post — it never found the back of the net.
Inexplicably, the nearest official ruled Luštinec’s shot a goal, eliciting a confused response from the Vrchlabi netminder. The referee should be grateful it was not a young Tuukka Rask on the receiving end of that blunder, or things might have gotten ugly.
Check out the ref’s call in the video below. (stick tap to Puck Daddy)
© 2013 New England Sports Network. All Rights Reserved. All photos © 2013 Associated Press and NBA photos © 2013 Getty Images unless indicated. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Associated Press is strictly prohibited.
Powered by WordPress.com VIP