MLB Rules Mariano Rivera Did Not Spit on Ball in Game 3 of ALCS


Oct 20, 2009

MLB Rules Mariano Rivera Did Not Spit on Ball in Game 3 of ALCS The case is officially closed on Spitballgate.

According to the New York Daily News, Major League Baseball has cleared Yankees closer Mariano Rivera of any wrongdoing in response to a widely-circulated Internet video that shows him spitting on a ball before pitching to Erick Aybar in Game 3 of the ALCS.

It is unclear whether or not Rivera's spit actually landed on the baseball, and as a result, after extensively reviewing photos and video from Fox's broadcast, the commissioner's office said he didn't do anything wrong.

"From the available video and still pictures that we have, there's no evidence that Rivera spit on the ball," a spokesman told the Daily News.

As for Yankees pitching coach Dave Eiland, he thinks the claims against Rivera are absurd.

"I don't believe it for one second," he said prior to Game 4. "I don't know what else to say. He doesn't load the ball up. I just think it's ridiculous, I really do. Mariano Rivera spit on the ball? Come on. I don't know if it's an accusation or not, but it's ridiculous. You think he's going right behind the mound and spitting on the ball? Ridiculous."

Although the investigation is currently closed, it could be reopened if further evidence surfaces.

Previous Article

Bruins Acquire Winger Daniel Paille From Sabres For Two Draft Picks

Next Article

Knicks Won’t Make Anything Happen This Year — But Next Year Could Be a Different Story

Picked For You