Patrice Bergeron Left Out of Race for NHL’s Selke Trophy


April 20, 2010

Despite Claude Julien's most spirited efforts to get him noticed, Bruins forward Patrice Bergeron was not chosen as one of the finalists for the NHL's Selke Trophy, awarded to the league's best defensive forward.

According to, Pavel Datsyuk, Ryan Kesler and Jordan Staal were selected as finalists on Tuesday.

The Red Wings' Datsyuk is the reigning two-time award winner.

Bergeron averaged 1:56 of short-handed ice time per game and won 58 percent of his faceoffs. After Boston trumped Carolina 4-2 in their penultimate regular-season game, Julien stated his case for Bergeron's potential nomination. 

"You have to take a lot of things into account," Julien told "Number one, he kills penalties and he kills them well. Number two, he plays against top lines all year and he's a plus player on a team that doesn't score much. That should tell you something as well.

Vancouver's Kesler, also a finalist in 2008-09, was instrumental in the Canucks' penalty kill this season, according to The Associated Press. Staal earned his first nomination this year, as he finished second in the NHL in short-handed minutes. 

The winner will be revealed during the NHL awards show in Las Vegas on June 23.

Previous Article

Kendrick Perkins: Glen Davis Will Replace Kevin Garnett in Celtics’ Starting Lineup

Next Article

Rams Trade Former First-Round Pick Adam Carriker to Redskins

Picked For You