Dustin Pedroia Bats Cleanup, Conor Jackson Starts in Left Field for Red Sox-Rays Series Finale


Mike Aviles starts at third base for the injured Kevin Youkilis for the third straight game, and Tim Wakefield goes for win No. 201 as the Red Sox try to rebound after Saturday’s loss and split their four game series with the Rays.

Wakefield (7-6, 5.13 ERA) makes his first start since he captured his 200th win Wednesday night against Toronto and will try to win consecutive games for the first time since late May. The knuckleballer also looks to extend the Red Sox’s lead in the American League Wild Card Race to four games.

Opposing Wakefield will be Tampa Bay left-hander David Price (12-12, 3.34 ERA). Price pitched a gem the last time he faced the Red Sox on Aug. 17 in Boston. He went eight innings, gave up three hits and no runs as the Rays won 4-0.

Jacoby Ellsbury will lead off once again, with Aviles moving up to the second spot in the lineup. Adrian Gonzalez bats third with Dustin Pedroia batting cleanup. David Ortiz is the designated hitter and will move down to the fifth spot.

Conor Jackson gets the start in left field and will bat sixth, followed by Darnell McDonald starting in right field and batting seventh. Jarrod Saltalamacchia will be behind the plate as he has been all series, and Marco Scutaro will be the shortstop and bat ninth.

Evan Longoria will bat third and Johnny Damon will be the designated hitter for the Rays.

Here are the complete lineups:

Red Sox
Jacoby Ellsbury, CF
Mike Aviles, 3B
Adrian Gonzalez, 1B
Dustin Pedroia, 2B
David Ortiz, DH
Conor Jackson, LF
Darnell McDonald, RF
Jarrod Saltalamacchia, C
Marco Scutaro, SS

Desmond Jennings, LF
B.J. Upton, CF
Evan Longoria, 3B
Casey Kotchman, 1B
Johnny Damon, DH
Ben Zobrist, 2B
Matt Joyce, RF
Sean Rodriguez, SS
Kelly Shoppach, C

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN