National Women’s Soccer League Unveiled, New Professional League to Showcase Soccer Stars


Dec 16, 2012

CHICAGO  — National Women’s Soccer League will be the name of the new league run by the U.S. Soccer Federation.

The USSF announced the name of the league Saturday night when the women’s national team played its final game of the year.

The NWSL will start play next spring and replaces the Women’s Professional Soccer league, which folded in May after three seasons. Its predecessor, Women’s United Soccer Association, lasted only three seasons, from 2001-03.

The eight teams in the new league are: Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit, Western New York Flash and Seattle, which has yet to announce its name.

Previous Article

Report: Red Sox Have Interest in Stephen Drew as One-Year Stopgap at Shortstop

Next Article

Vote: Behind Jerry Rice, Who Is the Second-Best Wide Receiver to Play in the NFL?

Picked For You