Tedy Bruschi, Broadcaster Gil Santos Will Be Inducted Into Patriots Hall of Fame


Tedy BruschiLinebacker Tedy Bruschi and broadcaster Gil Santos will be the newest members inducted into the Patriots Hall of Fame, the team announced on Tuesday. Bruschi edged out fellow finalists offensive tackle Leon Gray and head coach Chuck Fairbanks.

“Mr. Kraft called me on the phone last night and let me know, gave me the news,” Bruschi said. “He told me he was very proud of me to be inducted in the Patriots Hall of Fame, and I told him how much it meant to me.”

Patriots owner Robert Kraft indicated Bruschi received about 75 percent of the vote. Bruschi was also elected to the College Football Hall of Fame earlier this month.

Bruschi will be the 19th player in the Hall, joining 2012 inductee Troy Brown. Bruschi was drafted by the Patriots in the third round of the 1996 NFL draft, spending 13 seasons with New England. He won three Super Bowls and was a two-time Pro Bowler during his time with the team. Bruschi won the 2005 Comeback Player of the Year Award, returning to the football field just eight months after suffering a stroke.

Bruschi and Santos will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in a ceremony on August 11, and Bruschi will be honored on the field before the Patriots’ Sept. 12 matchup against the Jets at Gillette Stadium.

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN