NHLPA Unveils List Of 23 Players Who’ve Filed For Arbitration, Including Braden Holtby

The NHL Players’ Association released a list of 23 players Sunday who have filed for arbitration. Arbitration hearings begin July 20 and last through Aug. 4.

Most players reach a deal with their respective teams before the arbitration hearing begins.

The most notable players who have filed are Detroit Red Wings forward Gustav Nyquist, New York Rangers center Derek Stepan and Washington Capitals goaltender Braden Holtby.

Holtby has emerged as one of the league’s best netminders and one of the top playoff performers at his position over the last few years. He’s due for a huge raise from his $2 million salary last season.

Stepan is a legitimate top-six center coming off a two-year bridge deal signed before the 2013-14 campaign. Ryan O’Reilly’s seven-year, $52.5 million contract with the Buffalo Sabres signed last week could play a factor in Stepan’s negotiations because these two centers have similar offensive production in the last two seasons.

Here’s the NHLPA’s list of players who’ve elected arbitration:

Arizona Coyotes
Mikkel Boedker
Phil Samuelsson
Brendan Shinnimin

Buffalo Sabres
Phil Varone

Calgary Flames
Lance Bouma
Paul Byron
Josh Jooris

Colorado Avalanche
Andrew Agozzino
Mathew Clark

Detroit Red Wings
Gustav Nyquist

Minnesota Wild
Erik Haula

Nashville Predators
Taylor Beck
Craig Smith
Colin Wilson

New Jersey Devils
Eric Gélinas
Adam Larsson

New York Rangers
Derek Stepan

Ottawa Senators
Alex Chiasson
Mike Hoffman

Philadelphia Flyers
Michael Del Zotto

St. Louis Blues
Magnus Paajarvi

Washington Capitals
Braden Holtby
Marcus Johansson

Thumbnail photo via Geoff Burke/USA TODAY Sports Images

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties