Las Vegas Officially Awarded NHL Expansion Team Beginning With 2017-18 Season


Welcome to the NHL, Sin City.

The NHL announced Wednesday that the league granted an expansion team to Las Vegas beginning in the 2017-18 season. The move had been reported for a while, but the league’s Borad of Governors made it official at their meeting.

The annoucnement also means the NHL will have 31 teams starting with the 2017-18 season, and the new Las Vegas squad will play in the Pacific Division.

The NHL will hold an an expansion draft prior to the 2017 season. The NHL released information on what that means for Las Vegas and the other 30 teams Wednesday.

The Las Vegas team will play in the brand new T-Mobile Arena, which already has hosted many high profile events, including WWE’s Money in the Bank on Sunday.

Thumbnail photo via Kirby Lee/USA TODAY Sports Images

Previous Article

Hanley Ramirez Dropped To Seventh In Red Sox’s Lineup Vs. White Sox

Next Article

DraftKings: Xander Bogaerts, Mark Trumbo Among Tom Caron’s Picks

Picked For You