Women’s World Cup 2023 To Take Place In Australia, New Zealand


June 25, 2020

It’s official: the FIFA Women’s World Cup is going down under.

FIFA on Thursday named Australia and New Zealand as co-hosts of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The Oceanic countries’ bid beat Colombia’s 22-13 in a FIFA Council members’ vote.

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will be the ninth edition of women’s soccer’s marquee event and the first Men’s or Women’s World Cup either Australia and New Zealand has hosted.

The United States women’s national team won the 2019 Women’s World Cup, which took place in France. Team USA almost certainly will vie for a three-peat of its world championship in 2023 when it takes on all comers.

More Soccer: Orlando Pride, Multiple USWNT Stars Withdraw From NWSL Challenge Cup

Thumbnail photo via Michael Chow/USA TODAY Sports Images
Boston Celtics center Enes Kanter; Milwaukee Bucks center Ersan Ilyasova
Previous Article

Celtics’ Enes Kanter Calls Out Nick Wright For Predicting Bucks Will Make Finals

Milwaukee Bucks forward Giannis Antetokounmpo and Boston Celtics forward Jayson Tatum
Next Article

Why NBA Analyst Believes Celtics Are Bucks’ Biggest Threat In East

Picked For You