Bill Mueller, Bernie Williams Lead Newcomers on 2012 Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot


The ballot for the Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2012 includes two former batting champions among its new faces.

Bill Mueller, who won a batting title with a .326 average as a member of the Red Sox in 2003, makes his first appearance on the ballot. Yankees center fielder Bernie Williams, who had an American League high .339 average in 1998, is also a newcomer to the ballot.

Outfielders Ruben Sierra and Tim Salmon also debut on the ballot, along with third baseman Vinny Castilla.

The returnees from past years include seven-time All-Star and 1987 All-Star MVP Tim Raines, 12-time All-Star and 1995 NL MVP Barry Larkin, and 1985 AL MVP and nine-time Gold Glove winner Don Mattingly.

The full ballot, per, in alphabetical order:

Jeff Bagwell
Jeromy Burnitz
Vinny Castilla
Juan Gonzalez
Brian Jordan
Barry Larkin
Javy Lopez
Edgar Martinez
Don Mattingly
Fred McGriff
Mark McGwire
Jack Morris
Bill Mueller
Terry Mulholland
Dale Murphy
Phil Nevin
Rafael Palmeiro
Brad Radke
Tim Raines
Tim Salmon
Ruben Sierra
Lee Smith
Alan Trammell
Larry Walker
Bernie Williams
Tony Womack
Eric Young

© 2017 NESN