NBA Admits Officials Made Wrong Call at End of Hawks’ Loss to Celtics in Game 6

Sorry, Hawks fans. Your team got screwed.

OK, the outcome of Thursday's Game 6 may not have been significantly altered by the decision, but the NBA has admitted that the officials made an incorrect call on a late foul.

With 3.1 seconds left in the game, the Celtics' Marquis Daniels held the Hawks' Al Horford as Atlanta was inbounding the ball while trailing 81-79. One of the officials, Eric Lewis, called a foul on Daniels, but he ruled that it came after Marvin Williams had released the ball on the inbounds pass. That meant it was just a common foul and Atlanta had to throw it in again. However, replays show Lewis made the incorrect call.

The foul actually occurred before Williams released the ball, meaning it should have been treated as an away-from-the-play foul. In that case, the Hawks should have been awarded one free throw, in addition to retaining possession of the ball.

Oh well.

The play can be seen below.

Photo of the Day

Nice headband. Can I have it?

NBA Admits Officials Made Wrong Call at End of Hawks' Loss to Celtics in Game 6

Quote of the Day

I don't believe there's a player who played in the National Football League who has done for a city what Junior Seau has done for San Diego.
– Former Chargers head coach Bobby Ross

Tweet of the Day

Hey fan being caught on the mic in the background, shut up.

NBA Admits Officials Made Wrong Call at End of Hawks' Loss to Celtics in Game 6

Video of the Day

That's a big wave.

Yardbarker

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187,233 other followers