Wes Welker, Matt Light Added to AFC Pro Bowl Roster Giving Patriots League-High Eight Representatives


FOXBORO, Mass. — If the Patriots don’t make it to the Super Bowl, their chartered jet to Hawaii is going to be packed to the brim.

Wide receiver Wes Welker and left tackle Matt Light were added to the AFC Pro Bowl roster on Wednesday, giving the Patriots a league-high eight players in the game. Quarterback Tom Brady, left guard Logan Mankins, defensive lineman Vince Wilfork, linebacker Jerod Mayo, cornerback Devin McCourty and safety Brandon Meriweather have also been named to the Pro Bowl.

Welker and Light replaced Texans wide receiver Andre Johnson and Dolphins left tackle Jake Long, respectively. Johnson and Long have pulled out of the Pro Bowl due to injury.

Welker, who earned his third consecutive bid to the Pro Bowl, led the Patriots with 86 receptions and 848 receiving yards in the regular season, and he was second on the team with seven receiving touchdowns.

Light is also making his third trip to the Pro Bowl (2006, 2007), and his addition means the Patriots are the only team in the NFL to send both their left tackle and their left guard to Hawaii.

Picked For You