Robin van Persie, Sergio Aguero and Wayne Rooney Among Nominees for 'PFA Player of the Year' Award

The shortlist for the first of English soccer's two most prestigious individual awards were announced on Monday. The Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) "Player of the Year" award goes to the season's outstanding player as judged by his fellow professionals.

Manchester City dominated the shortlist with three nominees. Joe Hart, Sergio Aguero and David Silva make up half of the six nominees — but there was no place for Carlos Tevez or Mario Balotelli. Manchester United's Wayne Rooney, Arsenal's Robin van Persie and Tottenham's Scott Parker round out the list.

Each candidate has been in inspired form for most, if not all, of the season.

Aguero has lived up to his billing (and price tag), scoring 21 goals in 30 Premier League games for City.

Hart, City and England's goalkeeper, has anchored the league's stingiest defense.

Parker, last season's Football Writers Association (FWA) Player of the Year winner, joined Tottenham at the close of the summer transfer window. He added steel to the midfield, and kept his team in the top three or four places for most of the season.

Rooney is on the verge of leading United to the league title. He's done so from a number of positions, and scored 24 goals in 30 games.

Silva has been the chief creative officer for the high-powered City attack. The Spanish international has notched six goals and 15 assists in 32 games. As he goes, so does City.

Last but not least is Van Persie. The Arsenal forward has embraced the club captaincy both on and off the field. He leads the league in goals with 27 in 33 games. His strikes have resurrected Arsenal's season, and the Gunners are favorites to finish third in the league.

The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on April 22.

The PFA will also name its teams of the year for the Premier League, Championship, League One and League two.

Who do you think should win the 2011-12 PFA Player of the Year award? Vote in our poll.

Who should win the 'PFA Player of the Year' Award?

Have a question for Marcus Kwesi O'Mard? Send it to him via Twitter at @NESNsoccer, NESN Soccer's Facebook page or send it here. He will pick a few questions to answer every week for his mailbag.