Peyton Manning Beats Out David Ortiz, Mariano Rivera to Win Sports Illustrated 2013 Sportsman of the Year

Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning has been named the 2013 Sports Illustrated Sportsman of the Year. Peter King of Sports Illustrated announced the award during halftime of the Steelers-Bengals Sunday Night Football game on NBC.

In the midst of a record-breaking season, Manning has thrown for a career-high 4,811 yards to go along with 47 touchdowns through 14 games. Tom Brady holds the NFL record for the most touchdown passes in a season with 50, which he set in 2007.

King also revealed that David Ortiz and Mariano Rivera were also considered for the individual accolade.

With Manning at the helm, the Broncos have cruised to an 11-3 record this season. They are on pace to secure home-field advantage throughout the playoffs, if the Broncos win their final two games of the season against the Texans and Raiders.

This is the first time that Manning has won the award. He joins Pete Rozelle, Terry Bradshaw, Reggie Williams, Joe Montana, Tom Brady, Brett Favre and Drew Brees as Sportsman of the Year winners from the NFL.

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties