Baseball Hall Of Fame Voting Results 2016: Ken Griffey Jr. Sets Record

Ken Griffey Jr. and Mike Piazza will become the newest members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Griffey (99.3 percent) and Piazza (83 percent) received the 75 percent vote necessary to gain enshrinement into Cooperstown, according to the 2016 Hall of Fame results announced Wednesday.

Griffey was left off just three of 440 ballots, narrowly missing out on becoming the first ever unanimous selection. Still, Griffey’s vote percentage represents a new Hall of Fame record.

Jeff Bagwell (71.6 percent), Tim Raines (69.8 percent) and Trevor Hoffman (67.3 percent) were among those who just missed the cut.

Roger Clemens (45.2) and Barry Bonds (44.3) again fell short, presumably due to performance-enhancing drug suspicions.

Thumbnail photo via Twitter/@SInow

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties