Vote: Who Should Be Shortstop on Red Sox All-Fenway Team?

The voting for most of the All-Fenway team infielders is underway, so now it's time to focus on baseball's most important position.

Fans can vote on who they think is the all-time best Red Sox shortstop here and see when the voting for the remaining positions opens up visiting the Red Sox website.

The candidates for shortstop are Rick Burleson (1974-80), Joe Cronin (1935-45), Nomar Garciaparra (1996-04), Johnny Pesky (1942, 1946-52), Rico Petrocelli (1963-76) and Everett Scott (1914-21).

Burleson hit .274 in seven seasons with Boston and spent two years coaching the team in 1992 and 1993. In 2002, he was inducted into the Red Sox Hall of Fame.

Cronin, a seven-time All-Star and National Baseball Hall of Famer, hit .300 in 11 seasons with the Sox en route to having his No. 4 retired by the club. He hit five pinch-hit homers in 1943, which still stands as the single-season record.

Garciaparra went to five All-Star Games with the Sox, winning back-to-back AL batting titles in 1999 and 2000 with averages of .357 and .372. Pesky, meanwhile, scored over 100 runs in his first six seasons with Boston, and he came in third in the MVP voting in his rookie year in 1942. Nicknamed "Mr. Red Sox," he had his number retired in 2008.

Petrocelli played his entire 13-year career with the Sox. A two-time All-Star and Red Sox Hall of Famer, he hit 210 career homers — including 40 in 1969 — and drove in 773 runs.

Scott won three World Series with the Red Sox and drove in the game-winner in Game 3 of the 1918 title. He also led AL shortstops in fielding percentage for eight years in a row.

For more information on Fenway Park, visit Fenway Park 100.

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties