Detroit Tigers’ Miguel Cabrera Wins Second Straight AL MVP Award

by NESN Staff

November 14, 2013

Detroit Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera has become the first back-to-back AL MVP winner since Chicago White Sox star Frank Thomas in 1993 and 1994.

Cabrera received 23 first-place votes, and just like last year, he beat out Los Angeles Angels phenom Mike Trout. Chris Davis of the Baltimore Orioles finished third in the voting.

[tweet align=”center”%5D

The Tigers slugger won the AL batting title with a .348 average, while ranking second in home runs (44) and RBIs (137). He also led the league with a .442 on-base percentage and a .662 slugging percentage. Cabrera’s excellent production from the plate helped Detroit finish first in the AL in batting average and second in runs scored.

Cabrera is the 13th player to win multiple AL MVP awards, and the first Tigers player to accomplish this feat since Hal Newhouser in 1944-45. Detroit players have won the last three AL MVPs (Justin Verlander in 2011, Cabrera in 2012-13).

Previous Article

Bruins-Blue Jackets Live: Milan Lucic Scores Game-Winner in Overtime to Give B’s 3-2 Win

Next Article

Pittsburgh Pirates Outfielder Andrew McCutchen Wins 2013 NL MVP Award

Picked For You