Bruins Center Patrice Bergeron Wins Frank J. Selke Trophy For Third Time

Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron won the Frank J. Selke Trophy at the 2015 NHL Awards ceremony Wednesday night in Las Vegas.

This is the second consecutive year that Bergeron has won this award, which is given annually to the league’s best defensive forward. He also won in 2011-12. [tweet align=”center”]

Bergeron joins Bob Gainey, Guy Carbonneau, Jere Lehtinen and Pavel Datsyuk as the only three-time winners of this award. Bergeron and Steve Kasper (1981-82) are the only Selke winners from the Bruins.

Here’s how the voting unfolded. [tweet align=”center”]

Bergeron led the league in faceoff percentage and faceoff wins, and as I noted in my predictions piece, he finished in the top 10 of many puck possession, scoring chance and quality of competition metrics.

READ: Recap of all 2015 NHL Award winners >>

Thumbnail photo via Winslow Townson/USA TODAY Sports Images

Thumbnail photo via Mar 8, 2015; Boston, MA, USA; Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron (37) during the second period against the Detroit Red Wings at TD Garden. Mandatory Credit: Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties