Here’s Full List Of Semifinalists For College Hockey’s Walter Brown Award

Harvard leads the list with four nominees


Feb 7, 2022

On one of the greatest days on the New England college hockey calendar — the opening round of the men’s Beanpot tournament — the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced 25 semifinalists for the Walter Brown Award, which is given annually to the top American-born player among New England-based Division I men’s programs.

Among the 12 teams that had players selected as semifinalists, Harvard leads with four nominees. Providence and Quinnipiac each have three nominees.

Here’s a look at the full list, noting players with New England roots.

American International: Jake Kucharski, Brian Rigali
Bentley: Drew Bavaro
Boston College: Marc McLaughlin (North Billerica, Mass.), Jack St. Ivany
Boston University: Drew Commesso (Norwell, Mass.), Jay O’Brien (Hingham, Mass.)
Harvard: Nick Abruzzese, Sean Farrell (Hopkinton, Mass.), Alex Laferriere, Henry Thrun (Southboro, Mass.)
UMass Amherst: Scott Morrow (Darien, Conn.), Bobby Trivigno (Setauket, N.Y.)
Merrimack: Declan Carlisle, Liam Walsh
New Hampshire: Jackson Pierson
Northeastern: Jordan Harris (Haverhill, Mass.), Aidan McDonough (Milton, Mass.)
Providence: Brett Berard (East Greenwich, R.I.), Parker Ford (Wakefield, R.I.)
Quinnipiac: Wyatt Bongiovanni, Zach Metsa, Dylan St. Cyr
Sacred Heart: Austin Magera

The finalists and winner will be announced in March.

Thumbnail photo via Jeff Curry/USA TODAY Sports Images
Boston Celtics guard Marcus Smart
Previous Article

NBA Rumors: Celtics, Hawks Eyeing Marcus Smart Trade Framework?

Hockey Puck
Next Article

Jay O’Brien Pots Sweet Power Play Strike To Give BU Lead Vs. Harvard

Picked For You