Vote: Who Is the Greatest Quarterback in NFL History?


Tom Brady, Joe MontanaEditor’s note: As part of NFL’s Greatest Quarterback, fans will decide the best quarterback in team, division, conference and league history.

After weeks of voting, we’ve narrowed the NFL’s Greatest Quarterback project down to just two. Tom Brady emerged from the AFC and Joe Montana was voted greatest in NFC history.

It seems fitting the two would square off against one another since Brady grew up in the Bay Area idolizing Montana. Brady has taken his Patriots to five Super Bowls and won three of them, while Montana took the 49ers to four Super Bowls and won all of them.

Montana was named to eight Pro Bowls and six All-Pro teams during his 16 years in the league, while Brady also has been named to eight Pro Bowls, but just three All-Pro teams. Both players won two league MVPs, Montana won three Super Bowl MVPs and Brady won two.

Montana completed 63.2 percent of his passes during his career for 40,551 yards, 273 touchdowns and 139 interceptions. He averaged 7.5 yards per attempt and ran for 1,676 yards on 457 attempts. Brady has trumped most of those numbers in 13 years with a 63.7-percent completion percentage, 44,806 yards, 334 touchdowns, 123 interceptions and 7.5 yards per attempt. Brady has rushed for 748 yards on 402 attempts.

Montana led the league in completion percentage five times during his career and passer rating twice. He has a 117-47 regular season record and a 16-7 playoff record. Brady has led the league in passing touchdowns three times and passer rating twice. He has a 136-39 regular season record and a 17-7 playoff record.

So who’s the greatest quarterback of all time? Vote below.

Tom Brady photo via Facebook/New England Patriots from B/R

Joe Montana photo via Facebook/Joe Montana

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN