NCAA Hockey Awards: BU’s Jack Eichel Wins 2015 Hobey Baker Award


Jack Eichel has won college hockey’s most prestigious award.

The Boston University freshman is the 2015 Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner. Eichel, a native of Chelmsford, Mass., is the youngest freshman ever to win the award and was the first freshman nominated for the award in 12 years after scoring 70 points (26 goals, 44 assists) in 39 games. Eichel captained the U.S. World Junior team and led college hockey with 23 power play points and a +51 plus-minus rating.

The 18-year-old beat out Harvard forward Jimmy Vesey — a North Reading, Mass. native who led the nation with 32 goals —  and North Dakota goaltender Zane McIntyre — a 2010 Boston Bruins draft selection who led Division I with 29 wins — for the award.

Eichel previously was named the Tim Taylor Rookie of the Year, Hockey East Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, First-Team Hockey East and was a member of the All-Rookie Team as well as the Most Valuable Player of the Hockey East playoff tournament.

Eichel’s Terriers defeated McIntyre and UND in the national semifinal Thursday, and will face off against Hockey East rival Providence College in Saturday’s national championship game.

Earlier Friday, all three members of the Hobey Hat Trick were honored with additional awards.

McIntyre was the recipient of the 2015 Mike Richter Award, honoring the nation’s top goalie. In addition to his 29 wins, McIntyre finished with the most minutes on ice (2,493:21), was 11th with a .929 save percentage and finished 16th with a 2.04 goals against average.

Vesey and Eichel were named First-Team All-Americans, while McIntyre was named to the Second-Team.

Find the full list of winners below.

Hobey Baker Award (best overall player)
Jack Eichel, freshman, Boston University

Mike Richter Award (best goalie)
Zane McIntyre, junior, North Dakota

Derek Hines Award (unsung hero)
P.J. Musico, senior, goalie, Penn State

Tim Taylor (rookie of the year)
Jack Eichel, freshman, Boston University

American Hockey Coaches Association First-Team All-Americans
Alex Lyon, sophomore, goalie, Yale
Matt Grzelcyk, junior, defense, Boston University
Rob O’Gara, junior, defense, Yale
Daniel Ciampini, senior, forward, Union
Jach Eichel, freshman, forward, Boston University
Jimmy Vesey, junior, forward, Harvard

Jake Hildebrand, junior, goalie, Michigan State
Joey LaLeggia, senior, defense, Denver
Mike Reilly, junior, defense, Minnesota
Zach Hyman, senior, forward, Michigan
Tanner Kero, senior, forward, Michigan Tech
Matt Leitner, senior, forward, Minnesota State

AHCA Second-Team All-Americans
Jon Gillies, junior, goalie, Providence
Mike Paliotta, senior, defense, Vermont
Robbie Russo, senior, defense, Notre Dame
Sam Anas, sophomore, forward, Quinnipiac
Matt Garbowsky, senior, forward, RIT
Kevin Roy, junior, forward, Northeastern

Zane McIntyre, junior, goalie, North Dakota
Zach Palmquist, senior, defense, Minnesota State
Colton Parayko, junior, defense, Alaska
Austin Czarnik, senior, forward, Miami (Ohio)
Dylan Larkin, freshman, forward, Michigan
Trevor Moore, sophomore, forward, Denver

Thumbnail photo via Winslow Townson/USA TODAY Sports Images

Cavaliers forward LeBron James
Previous Article

LeBron James To Play Friday Vs. Celtics: ‘I Was Never Sitting Out’

Boston Red Sox closer Koji Uehara
Next Article

Koji Uehara Could Return For Red Sox’s Home Opener At Fenway Park

Picked For You