Edwards, Biffle Among NASCAR’s Best Honored at White House


President Barack Obama, known for his love for basketball, is going to trade in his high-tops for a fire suit as he welcomed in 18 of NASCAR's finest racers on Wednesday.

Among those invited were Roush Fenway Racing's Carl Edwards and Greg Biffle. Jimmie Johnson, who has won the past three straight Sprint Cup Series, was honored by the President on the South Lawn.

"NASCAR is once again honored to have its drivers recognized by the President of the United States," NASCAR chairman and CEO Brian France said in a news release. "NASCAR is rooted deep in America's fabric and represents the best of the sports and side-by-side competition."

Wednesday's visit marked the ninth time the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series winner has been honored at the White House since 2000. NASCAR’s first trip to the White House was in 1978. Joining Edwards, Biffle and Johnson were Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Tony Stewart, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kurt Busch, Bobby Labonte, Dale Jarrett, Terry Labonte, Rusty Wallace, Bill Elliott, Darrell Waltrip, Richard Petty and Juan Pablo Montoya.

Picked For You