Six Inductees Welcomed to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Six Inductees Welcomed to Pro Football Hall of Fame Ralph Wilson, Bob Hayes, Randal McDaniel, Bruce Smith, Derrick Thomas and Rod Woodson were inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday night.

Thomas and Hayes were inducted posthumously.

Thomas, a former Kansas City Chiefs linebacker, died after complications stemming from a car crash in 2000, while Hayes, a former Olympic sprinter turned wide receiver, died in 2002 at the age of 59.

Wilson, the founding owner of the Buffalo Bills, said he watched his first pro football game in 1935 and has been "an avid pro football fan" ever since.

"It has been a grand ride for me, and tonight is the high point," Wilson said. "My luck prevails, and closing in on 91 [years old], I still feel that I have youth on my side.

"I share the stage with some great players who played the game. I didn't," Wilson added. "I played tennis, because when you play tennis, you don't have to face the rush of Bruce Smith. And you go home without any bruises, and clean clothes."

TMZ logo

© 2018 NESN

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties