Boston Cannons Add to City’s Success, Win First MLL Championship With 10-9 Win Over Hamilton Nationals


August 29, 2011

Chalk up another Boston title. The Boston Cannons are 2011 Major League Lacrosse (MLL) champions.

The Cannons captured the league's championship in a 10-9 win over the Hamilton Nationals on Sunday at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Md.

Matt Poskay led the offensive attack for Boston with three goals, while Pat Heim chipped in two. Five other Boston players each contributed a goal, while Jordan Burke was named the Bud Light MLL Championship MVP.

The Cannons led, 6-3, at halftime, but the Nationals, behind four goals from Casey Powell, came storming back. Heim's tally recaptured a bit of momentum, though, after Hamilton had netted three unanswered goals.

The two teams traded goals in the fourth quarter, with Boston's 10th and final goal coming from Kevin Buchanan.

"I'm very proud of this groups," said Cannons head coach Bill Daye after the win, according to "All season they worked hard and bought into our plan. Eleven wins in 2011 and we're MLL champs!"

Daye has been a part of the Cannons for all 11 of the organization's seasons — first as a player, then as assistant coach, and now as head coach.

This year marked the ninth time that the Cannons have made the postseason, but it's the team's first title.

Previous Article

Is ‘Tuck Rule’ Play or Red Sox”Impossible Dream’ Team Winning 1967 Pennant a Bigger Boston Sports Moment?

Next Article

Send Red Sox Reporter Tony Lee a Question for His Weekly Mailbag

Picked For You