Jordan Spieth’s Impressive Shot Off Cart Path Leads To Potential Controversy

Jordan Spieth has had a rocky relationship with water this season.

Spieth had his second straight Masters title within reach earlier this year before hitting back-to-back shots into the water on the 12th hole. Fast forward to Friday’s second round of the PGA Championship, and Spieth once again hit a ball into the water, although this situation was different than the last.

Spieth hit his drive on the par-4 seventh hole into a puddle on a cart path — shot for which he received relief from after a lengthy discussion with rules officials. It was a complicated situation since the ball and Spieth couldn’t touch any part of the water after the relief, so finding the perfect drop spot wasn’t easy.

But they ultimately figured out a solution, and Spieth followed with a second shot that went over the green.

As you can see in the video, though, Spieth’s left foot might have touched one of the puddles, which would be a one-stroke penalty.

But Spieth attempted to clear the air with this explanation after his round:

Spieth tore up Baltustrol with a 3-under-par 67 during the second round.

Thumbnail photo via Eric Sucar/USA TODAY Sports Images

TMZ logo

© 2019 NESN

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties