The Bruins lost to the Anaheim Ducks on Tuesday night by a seemingly one-sided score of 5-2. However, that served as an example of the occasional times where the score isn’t exactly indicative of how the game actually went.
Boston was in it for much of the game until Anaheim pulled away late in the third period. The Bruins actually found themselves within a goal down 3-2 midway through the period.
That’s when Ducks forward Saku Koivu caught Bruins defenseman Torey Krug with a high stick. Despite being down 3-0 at one point, the B’s were about to go on the power play with a chance to tie the game and put themselves in position to earn at least a point against one of the league’s best teams. However, that power play was short-lived when Brad Marchand was called for interference just 28 seconds into the man-advantage.
The referee ruled that Marchand interfered with Daniel Winnik‘s attempt to gather his stick that he had lost earlier in the play. The Ducks took full advantage of an abbreviated power play after Koivu’s penalty expired as Nick Bonino scored the Ducks’s third power-play goal of the night to push the lead to 4-2.
Boston coach Claude Julien was quite upset with that interference call after the game.
“We score a goal late in that second and get ourselves back in the game and it’s a 3-2 hockey game and you get a power play and you get a call like that, it’s mind-boggling sometimes,” Julien told reporters following the loss. “We could have tied that game. it’s not like he pushed it. he was skating backwards. I think it was based on the reputation, as simple as that.”
Julien also told NESN’s Jamie Erdahl that he thought the call was “bogus.”
© 2015 New England Sports Network. All Rights Reserved. All photos © 2015 Associated Press and NBA photos © 2015 Getty Images unless indicated. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Associated Press is strictly prohibited.
Powered by WordPress.com VIP