2014 ESPY Awards Live: Seattle Seahawks, Kevin Durant Among Winners


11:40 p.m. ET: And now, the award we’ve all been waiting for — Best Team.

Florida State football
Boston Red Sox
Seattle Seahawks
Los Angeles Kings
UConn men’s basketball
UConn women’s basketball

Winner: Seattle Seahawks

That’s it for the 2014 ESPY Awards. To view the full list of winners, click here.

Thanks for following along, and good night!

11:30 p.m. ET: Best Male Athlete is next.

OKC Thunder forward Kevin Durant
Boxer Floyd Mayweather
Detroit Tigers first baseman Miguel Cabrera
Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning

Winner: Kevin Durant (He also won the ESPY for best NBA player.)

11:15 p.m. ET: ESPN SportsCenter anchor Stuart Scott has won the 2014 Jimmy V Perseverance Award

10:58 p.m. ET: It’s time for the Best Comeback Athlete award.

Oklahoma City Thunder point guard Russell Westbrook
Pittsburgh Penguins forward Sidney Crosby
Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Josh Beckett
New York Rangers center Dominic Moore

Winner: Russell Westbrook

10:55 p.m. ET: Best Female Athlete is up next.

Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore
UFC fighter Ronda Rousey
UConn forward Breanna Stewart
Olympic skier Mikaela Shiffrin

Winner: Ronda Rousey

10:45 p.m. ET: The next award is for Best Play.

Auburn’s game-winning Hail Mary pass against Georgia
a 75-foot putt by Paula Creamer at the 2014 HSBC Women’s Champions
Auburn cornerback Chris Davis’ field goal return against Alabama in the Iron Bowl
Portland Trail Blazers guard Damian Lillard’s series-winning buzzer-beater against the Houston Rockets.

Shockingly, David Ortiz’s grand slam in Game 2 of the 2013 ALCS against the Detroit Tigers was not among the nominees.

Winner: Auburn’s Chris Davis

10:25 p.m. ET: St. Louis Rams rookie defensive lineman Michael Sam has won the Arthur Ashe Courage Award.

10:05 p.m. ET: Now Drake is singing a song called “Honorable Mention” about the teams and players who fell just short of a championship over the last year. It’s as bad as it sounds.

9:55 p.m. ET: Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning has won the ESPY for Best Record-Breaking Performance. He set the NFL record for the most touchdown passes in a single season in 2013. But in typical Manning fashion, he played poorly when it mattered most in Super Bowl XLVIII.

9:45 p.m. ET: The award for Best Game is next.

Iron Bowl between Alabama and Auburn
Game 5 of 2014 Stanley Cup Final between the L.A. Kings and New York Rangers
2013 AFC Wild Card playoff game between the Indianapolis Colts and Kansas City Chiefs

Winner: Auburn vs. Alabama

9:35 p.m. ET:  Josh Sweeney won the first ever Pat Tillman Award for Service.

To learn about Sweeney’s story, click on the link in the tweet below:

9:30 p.m. ET: The next award is for Best Moment.

New York Yankees pitcher Mariano Rivera’s last game
Oklahoma City Thunder forward Kevin Durant’s NBA MVP acceptance speech
Team USA’s 2014 FIFA World Cup win over Ghana

Winner: Team USA

Captain Clint Dempsey accepted the award on behalf of the U.S. men’s national team.

9:18 p.m. ET: Best Breakthrough Performance is the first award of the night.

Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Nick Foles
Portland Trail Blazers guard Damian Lillard
New York Yankees pitcher Masahiro Tanaka
Seattle Seahawks cornerback Richard Sherman

Winner: Richard Sherman

9:15 p.m. ET: This was awkward…

9 p.m. ET: The ceremony has begun and Drake is telling us some lame jokes. Not a great start.

7 p.m. ET: The 2014 ESPY Awards will be televised Wednesday night, and there are several New England-area teams, players and coaches nominated for awards.

The 2013 Boston Red Sox and 2013-14 UConn women’s basketball team are among the nominees in the Best Team category. Red Sox slugger David Ortiz is one of the nominees for Best Championship Performance after his stellar 2013 World Series, and former Boston College men’s hockey forward Johnny Gaudreau is a finalist for Best Male College Athlete.

Here’s the complete list of Boston-area nominees.

Best Team: Red Sox, UConn women’s basketball
Best Championship Performance: David Ortiz
Best Female Athlete, Best Female College Athlete: UConn’s Breanna Stewart
Best Upset: UConn men’s basketball wins NCAA title
Best Coach/Manager: John Farrell (Red Sox), Kevin Ollie (UConn men’s basketball), Geno Auriemma (UConn women’s basketball)
Best Male College Athlete: Johnny Gaudreau

The ESPYs begin at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN, and they also can be viewed using the WatchESPN app. Actor and rapper Drake is hosting the event.

Check back to this live blog for photos, tweets, videos and an updated list of award winners throughout the night.

TMZ logo

© 2017 NESN